Home Entertainment Top 12 Books Like The Alchemist To Read

Top 12 Books Like The Alchemist To Read

by Ragini Salampure
books like the alchemist

If you are on the hunt for the books like the Alchemist to read. Then, you have come to the right place. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is mainly known for its unique philosophical elements and people enjoy the traveling aspect of the story. It is among the best books of all time the alchemist and is very highly rated. The book has also won many awards and is listed in the international bestseller. In this article, I have mentioned life-changing books like the alchemist that is worth reading. So, grab your snacks and bookmarks to read the best books like the alchemist for your entertainment.

List Of Top 12 Books Like The Alchemist To Read

Now, I will tell you the names of the  books like the alchemist that you should consider reading. If the alchemist favorite book then I am sure that you will love to read these books.

  1. The Pilgrimage By Paulo Coelho
  2. Shantaram By Gregory David Roberts
  3. The Kite Runner By Khaled Hosseini
  4. Journal of A Solitude By May Sarton 
  5. Eat, Pray, Love By Elizabeth Gilbert
  6. Life Of Pi By Yann Martel
  7. Siddhartha By Hermann Hesse 
  8. The Secret By Rhonda Byrne 
  9. The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari By Robin Sharma 
  10. Into The Wild By Jon Krakauer
  11. Wild By Cheryl Strayed
  12. The Little Prince By Antoine De Saint-Exupéry

Top 12 Books Like The Alchemist

In this section, I will give you a brief introduction to the themes and the plots of these books like the alchemist.  So, get ready to dive into the beautiful world of these books like the alchemist book.

  1. The Pilgrimage By Paulo Coelho

books like the alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The first book like the alchemist that I would recommend you to read is The pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho. The story revolves around the author himself and it is a mix of travel and lifestyle. The physical and mental challenges that he faced and how it helped him in self-discovery is worth reading.

The book largely focuses on meditation and spiritual teachings. But Paulo’s distinctive style of narration makes it very interesting. You will get to learn a lot of moral lessons from this book. I suggest you include the pilgrimage in the must-read books on your list.

  • Author: Paulo Coelho
  • Language: Portuguese
  • Genre: Novel, Fiction
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Release Date: 1987
  1. Shantaram By Gregory David Roberts

other books like the alchemist

Shantaram is one of the fascinating books like the alchemist by Gregory David Roberts. This fictional novel centers on Lin who has escaped from Australian jail and has come to India. The book is an account of the different experiences that he gets in India.

You will also love the description of many cities of India given in the book. There are several intriguing characters with whom Lin interacts and how they affect him. I encourage you to read this book as it will take you on a long journey to India which is going to be fun for sure.

  • Author: Gregory David Roberts
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Novel, Adventure Fiction, Autobiographical novel
  • Publisher: Scribe Publications
  • Release Date: 2003
  1. The Kite Runner By Khaled Hosseini

must read books like the alchemist

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini is among similar books like the alchemist. The plot centers on two Afghani boys named Amir and Hassan who were good friends but from different castes. But the Soviet invasion affects their lives and Amir leaves the country and immigrate to the USA.

A few years later, Amir comes to Afghanistan and remembers his earlier life. You must read this book as it shows the hardships that people had to go through during the soviet invasion. How it separated people from their families and acquaintances? The challenges that immigrants had to face in the USA.

  • Author: Khaled Hosseini
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Drama, Historical Fiction, Bildungsroman
  • Publisher: Riverhead books
  • Release Date: 29 May 2003
  1. Journal Of A Solitude By May Sarton 

the alchemist like books

Journal of A Solitude by May Sarton is included in other books like the alchemist. If you are feeling confused about your life and emotions then this book is perfect for you. The novel has the account of the author May Sarton exploring the importance of solitude.

Despite having everything she wants in her life, she isn’t happy. Her story will help you understand the importance of silence in order to listen to your inner voice. You can also get audiobooks like the alchemist for this book so that you can hear it in your free time.

  • Author: May Sarton
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Biography
  • Publisher: W. Norton & Company
  • Release Date: 17 October 1992
  1. Eat Pray Love By Elizabeth Gilbert

books like the alchemist to read

For all the travel lovers out there, Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert is counted in the incredible books like the alchemist. The author was in her 30s and doesn’t feel content with the ideal life. So she sets out on a journey to Italy, India, and Indonesia.

She surprisingly found three different aspects of her nature in these places which changed her life forever. You will love the inspiration and motivation that you will get from this book. I encourage you to read this book as I can assure you it will also change something within you.

  • Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Memoir
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Release Date: 16 February 2006
  1. Life Of Pi By Yann Martel

books like the alchemist book

Life of Pi by Yann Martel is one of the must read books like the alchemist due to its interesting plot. You will also get a brief account of the beautiful city of Gods and the rich culture of India. You will be scratching your head as the book transitions from illusion and reality.

The story revolves around a Tamil Indian boy named Piscine Patel who gets trapped in a boat with a tiger. How he reached a mysterious Island and the weird things that happen to him. How he survived and was able to come back home is a must-read. You should take some time out to read this book like the alchemist as it will take you to the world of mysteries and magic.

  • Author: Yann Martel
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Philosophical Fiction
  • Publisher: Knopf Canada
  • Release Date: 11 September 2001
  1. Siddhartha By Hermann Hesse 

books like the alchemist by micheal scoot

Siddhartha is listed in the books like the alchemist by Paulo Coelho as it is very inspirational and motivational. The story revolves around a young man named Siddhartha. He was a king and had everything but still couldn’t find satisfaction in his life. Then, he sets out on a spiritual journey leaving all the worldly luxury and pleasures. Siddhartha follows the path of buddha promoting his ideologies and following them.

This gives him immense satisfaction and peace. The book is an account of the personal philosophies given by Siddhartha and how his life transformed for the better. You must read this inspiring book like the alchemist whenever you are feeling low.

  • Author: Hermann Hesse
  • Language: German
  • Genre: Novel, Philosophical fiction
  • Publisher: New Directions
  • Release Date: 1922
  1. The Secret By Rhonda Byrne

similar books like the alchemist

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne is among the amazing books like the alchemist. The author has derived various incredible revelations from different cultures, religions, and philosophies. She has presented a few of them together in a correlative manner in this book and named it The Secret.

You will learn how to apply the secret to bring happiness in all aspects of life such as money, health, and relationships, etc. This novel will help you to tap into the divine powers within you and to live life in a newly found manner. You must read this life-changing book like the alchemist to discover more about life.

  • Author: Rhonda Byrne
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Self-help book
  • Publisher: Atria Books, Beyond Words Publishing
  • Release Date: November
  1. The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari By Robin Sharma 

audiobooks like the alchemist

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari is highly rated in the books like alchemist goodreads. The plot centers on Julian who is a high-profile lawyer but gets a sudden heart attack. He decides to leave his career for this reason and his attention is drawn to search for more meanings of life. You will see a different style of writing in this novel as it is written from the perspective of his colleague John.

Julian makes up his mind and sells his Ferrari and heads to the Himalayas. There he starts to live with the monks and acquire knowledge and wisdom about life. As he comes back from the Himalayas he tells John about all this and the practical philosophical teachings that he learned. I know that you will definitely like this book as it is very emotionally involving.

  • Author: Robin Sharma
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Publisher: HarperSanFrancisco
  • Release Date: 21 April 1999
  1. Into The Wild By Jon Krakauer

life changing books like the alchemist

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer will take you on a journey that is full of adventure and thrill. The novel is based on the true story of Christopher McCandless who was a college graduate. After his schooling, he takes the decision of giving all his savings to charity and travel across the globe.

He sights to go to Alaska at the end and live in some far-off land. McCandless’s journey is packed with amazing experiences and he meets weird strangers on this journey. You cannot predict what is gonna happen next. His journey is full of ups and downs and you will feel the same emotions as Jon. You must read this fantastic book like the alchemist for fun.

  • Author: Jon Krakauer
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Biography, Travel literature
  • Publisher: Villard
  • Release Date: 1996
  1. Wild By Cheryl Strayed

the alchemist favorite book

Wild by Cheryl Strayed is among the alternative books like the alchemist. The author has written about her personal life experience. Strayed had a long period of drug abuse and suddenly when her mother dies she experiences an emotional shock.

To come out of all this she goes to walk on the Pacific Crest Trail all alone. The wild is written very beautifully and it transits between her life on the trail and her life at the beginning. You will see this journey leads stray to the path of self-discovery. She walks around 1100 miles and the challenges she overcomes taught her a lot. You must read this book like the alchemist as I am sure it will inspire you.

  • Author: Cheryl Strayed
  • Language: English
  • Genre: Memoirs, Education, and Reference
  • Publisher: Knopf
  • Release Date: 20 March 2012
  1. The Little Prince By Antoine De Saint-Exupéry

best books of all time the alchemist

The Little Prince is one of the books like the alchemist that you can consider reading for fun. The story revolves around a pilot who has to do an emergency landing in the Sahara desert. There he happens to meet a strange boy named Little prince.

This boy tells him about his travels across the universe and how the different individuals taught him a lot. You will be amazed and questioning the stories that Little prince tells him about. I recommend you to read this one of the alchemist like books as it has nailbiting twists and turns that will shock you.

  • Author: Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • Language: French
  • Genre: Fable, Children’s literature, Speculative fiction, Novella
  • Publisher: Reynal & Hitchcock, Gallimard
  • Release Date: April 1943

FAQ

What Should I Read If I Liked The Alchemist?

You can read the books which I have mentioned below if you like the Alchemist

  • The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho
  • Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • Journal of A Solitude by May Sarton
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
  • The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma
  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

What Are The 10 Books Everyone Should Read?

Below I have given the names of the 10 books that everyone should read

  • Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
  • The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma
  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  • The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho
  • Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • Journal of A Solitude by May Sarton
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

What Are The Best Life Changing Books?

The best life-changing books like the alchemist are as follows

  • The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho
  • Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
  • The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma
  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  • Journal of A Solitude by May Sarton
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed

What Is The Most Powerful Book Ever Written?

I have mentioned the names of the most powerful books like the alchemist ever written

  • The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
  • The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma
  • Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
  • Journal of A Solitude by May Sarton
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Life Of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho
  • Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Conclusion

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is very popular and has a life-changing message. If you are thinking about what to read after the Alchemist. Then, I have solved this problem by letting you know about more books like the alchemist that you can read. I am sure that you will get to learn a lot from these books. I have also mentioned the name of the author for your information. You can go through the brief overview of the books so that you get an idea about them. I  am sure after reading this article you will be able to select the best book among these books like the alchemist for your next read.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment