Floridians wishing to purchase marijuana for medical purposes are warned that carrying a valid medical card is mandatory. Unfortunately, recreational use of the substance still isn’t legalized in Florida and has hefty legal repercussions if violated.
In the state, possessing fewer than 20 grams of cannabis is a misdemeanor that can result in up to one year behind bars and fine too. If you’re caught with more than 20 grams on your person however, it’s considered a felony offense punishable by as much as five years imprisonment.
Florida Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2014, Florida made a historic move in the field of health care when they passed the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act. This act granted access to medical marijuana for cancer and epilepsy patients paving the way for promising treatments that could help those suffering from these debilitating conditions lead healthier lives.
In 2016, Florida citizens made history by dramatically increasing the list of medical conditions that qualify for access to cannabis treatments. This amendment also offered legal protection for those taking part in this new form of treatment from patients and caregivers to physicians and dispensary staff alike.
In 2017, Amendment 2 ushered in a new era of change with its enactment. Encompassing important reforms, it opened the door to improvements that would have lasting impacts on citizens throughout Florida and beyond.
Governor Rick Scott signed a groundbreaking Senate Bill 8A into law last month, completely revamping the policy concerning medical marijuana. No longer does one need to have been under care of a licensed physician for 90 days prior instead mandatory lab testing has become standard procedure in this new era for medicinal cannabis users.
After years of debate, finally in 2019 Florida gave patients with a physician’s recommendation access to medical marijuana from licensed MMTC’s. This was made possible by the passing of Session Bill 182 opening the door for Floridians to enjoy relief and healing through cannabis flower.
Physicians in Florida may provide qualified patients with a recommended supply of medicinal marijuana, though the total amount is capped at three 70-day supplies. Patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces every 35 days and hold no more than four ounces at once home growing their own cannabis unfortunately isn’t an option here.
Florida Qualifying Conditions For Medical Marijuana
With nearly 650,000 Floridians enrolled in the state’s medical marijuana program, healthcare is taking on a whole new form. The Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) works hard to ensure that those with qualifying ailments have access to this unique option for relief and care.
For those suffering from chronic and serious medical conditions, relief may be in reach with the recommended action of a licensed physician. Marijuana can offer hope for cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma HIV/AIDS and PTSD sufferers alike as well as provide aid to individuals living with Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS), Crohn’s disease or Parkinson’s.
Relief is also available for patients battling multiple sclerosis, various comparable severe medical conditions and even people who are terminally ill. As an added bonus marijuana has shown promise in providing comfort through its analgesic properties against acute nonmalignant pain.
Step-By-Step Guide For Acquiring A Valid Medical Marijuana Card.
Becoming a medical marijuana patient in Florida requires going through an arduous process. After getting diagnosed by a physician with one of the accepted qualifying conditions, individuals join the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry and receive temporary user credentials from OMMU to access their account.
From there they can begin exploring medicinal alternatives tailored to managing their specific health issues. Achieving access to medical marijuana in Florida starts with a Registry Identification Card.
With an online application, patients can expect approval within 10 business days or up to two weeks for those submitting paper applications but there’s a $75 fee associated with the process. So get your forms ready and take that first step towards healthier treatments.
In Florida, minors are allowed to access medical marijuana through a designated caregiver. Before being permitted to purchase the medication for their minor patient however, caregivers must be registered on the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and go through an application process with OMMU which requires a $75 fee. Visit this West Palm Beach based Cannabis doctor if you need any help regarding a medical card.